Ron Hubbard Writer’s Anthology & Awards

http://www.writersofthefuture.com/rules.htm#writers

Those are the rules for the Writers of The Future contest. They happen every quarter and I’ve heard pretty decent reviews over at the Absolute Writer’s Forums about the contest. I am planning to take a crack at this contest myself along side my NaNoWriMo attempt.

Some say over loading yourself with projects is a means to failure. I’m more of a “I work better in chaos” type of gal. I like multiple projects with many overlapping deadlines. Keeps me on my toes a lot of the time and keeps me focused and driven. I think it has a lot to do with being a mom of five kids, a mom of three that are high needs and special needs. Chaos should be my middle name really.

I digress though. The break down of the contest goes like this :

Entry Dates: OCT 1 – JAN 1 – APR 1 – JUL 1
Genre: SCI FI – FANTASY – DARK FANATSY
NO ENTRY FEE\RETAIN RIGHTS
L. Ron Hubbard’s
WRITERS OF THE FUTURE
CONTEST
P.O. BOX 1630
LOS ANGELES, CA 90078
Black on white paper – double spaced – numbered pages
cover page with author, address, phone and email – word count. All pages with title and page number.
#10 busines envelope, return SASE. 17G word count max.
Quarter prize – 500, 750, 1000
Annual prize – 5000

Website: http://www.writersofthefuture.com

Entry Dates: OCT 1 – JAN 1 – APR 1 – JUL 1

Genre: SCI FI – FANTASY – DARK FANATSY

NO ENTRY FEE\RETAIN RIGHTS

L. Ron Hubbard’s

WRITERS OF THE FUTURE CONTEST

P.O. BOX 1630

LOS ANGELES, CA 90078

Black on white paper – double spaced – numbered pages

cover page with author, address, phone and email – word count. All pages with title and page number.

#10 busines envelope, return SASE. 17G word count max.

Quarter prize – 500, 750, 1000 USD

Annual prize – 5000 USD

I hear it’s an award that garners a lot of respect from fellow writers, publishers and agents. It’s like the sci fi version of the pulitzer prize in some ways. Lots of advantage to taking a crack at this contest, the money isn’t the main goal personally, it’s the idea of having my work published in one of their respectable anthologies that appeals to me the most. Even just completing something that someone took the time to look at regardless of acceptance or not is more appealing to me than anything else. I hope I do win, but if not – I’ve taken a step closer to writing because I like to write.
2 thoughts on “Ron Hubbard Writer’s Anthology & Awards

  1. Ben Godby says:

    Hey, thanks! When last I stumbled upon this contest I was stumped by a web page that said I had to order the anthology to get the full contest rules. Seeing as I’m terribly… careful about money, that wasn’t going to happen. But thanks to you, I can now fire off manuscripts willy-nilly.

    Much appreciated!

    -bn

    • tabithatodd says:

      You are welcome! I found it on Absolute Writers Forum. I’m glad I could help out somewhere. Good luck and have fun with it.

Leave a Reply

