2 Percent Ahead

All writing takes a while but I am now, so it seems, out of a writing lull. I’ve done another 2% of Silent Invasion, that’s about 5 to 6 pages worth and a chapter closed up and finished.

Silent Invasion is based in Elliot Lake, where I live and where my hubbs was born and raised. I’m not the only author to insert Elliot Lake into a book as the location. In fact, one author just recently wrote a book called Frozen Beneath, he is also the author of Minnow Trap (another Elliot Lake location). Elliot Lake is a wonderous place to live, bush every where and plenty to do if you love camping, fishing, hiking and hunting. It was a mining town back in the 60s and 70s. When the mines closed in the early 90s it became a retirement living town and now it’s also cottage country.

A lot of people have misconceptions about Elliot Lake, stating that there are no jobs and there is nothing to do here. Au Contraire I say to them, there is plenty to be had here. I found a job within 2 weeks of trying, albeit it is part time but exactly what I was looking for considering I’m a mom of 5 kids and a writer. It gives me guaranteed income and time well spent with the kids with just a little left over for writing when the fancy strikes me to do so.

It’s the driving force behind Silent Invasion, I’ve always wanted to write a book with Elliot Lake in the center of it as a location. I think this town deserves a lot more than what people give it credit for. It’s a great little place to raise a young family and even better if you like physical activity and sporting in the extreme.

There’s a writers group here, I haven’t yet had the time to meet up with them but I hope that I will very soon. They seem like a great bunch of people to hang about with tossing ideas out in the open and even maybe, just maybe sharing a novel idea with here and there. I might even be inclined to read from my finished novel for them eventually – published or not.

So, if you are ever in the neighborhood, take a peek at Elliot Lake, Ontario – you won’t be disappointed in the least!

69e12ab2a0016464760ce1698d149ee5

Leave a Reply

