Writers Block

Just the mere mention of it makes any author cringe. The big WB, writers block. I’ve been experiencing a lot of this lately. I don’t know if it’s left over stress from the move from the city to the country or other more personal familial stress that is taking it’s toll on me. Lately, it seems as if writing is the last thing my stubborn mind wants to do and yet, here I am forcing it and trying to write through it.

I once heard that it’s best to just keep writing, write anything and everything that comes to mind. Another tip I got from a small publishing house owner was to get a tape recorder and just talk it out. Sounds pretty simple, except I hate my voice on tape. It irks me in some way that freezes me in place and makes me just sit there silently. I think that has a lot to do with high school and how I was forced to “perform” like a puppet for assignments that required speaking in front of the class. I hated it, it made me sick to my stomach to do those assignments but I digress.

I think writing anything and everything that comes to mind, including outlines or character builds helps the process of “unstucking” oneself from writers block is a good tool. If one isn’t as squeamish as I am about voice recordings then that would probably be a better bet. At least today I got in 1% more writing for Silent Invasion than I expected while finishing a chapter that has been dogging me all week. It actually didn’t turn out that bad either, it works and fits well with the previous chapter and following chapter.

Night & Day has become my nemesis at the moment, I’m completely stuck at the point I am at with the plot and characters, unable to move forward at this moment in that genre and style of writing. I’ve opted to keep moving with Silent Invasion at the moment because of this rather large problem with Night & Day and it irks me that I am almost half way through my writing goals with the first book of the Immortal Chronicle series and yet have come up short. Perhaps I am too critical of myself and don’t give myself enough credit where I am due such credit.

I guess the old cliche of “keep on trucking it” applies quite well to this subject matter (or fodder if you prefer) of writers block so, as the cliche goes I will keep on trucking it and see what comes of the whole thing. Wish me luck as I bury deeper into the bowels of writers block hell.

Keep on reading and be happy doing it!

69e12ab2a0016464760ce1698d149ee5

One thought on “Writers Block

  1. theoates says:

    I understand what you mean, I hate writers block from when I’ve have it in the past!

Leave a Reply

